Erwin Awards

Erwin Awards – Season 26

ERWIN awards for the 1999/2000 Season were named at the First Presbyterian Church on August 26, 2000. Bob McQuitty, current president, served as the master of ceremonies.

This year the Erwin for Best Production went to Look Homeward, Angel, directed by Mike Phillips. David McQuitty was named Best Actor for his portrayal of Eugene Gant in Look Homeward, Angel. Diane Morgan received the Erwin for Best Actress for her portrayal of Miribelle Coventry in Good Help Is So Hard to Murder. Chandra West won Best Actress 16 years or younger for Ratty in The Wind in the Willows. The Best Actor 16 years or younger went to Matthew Kaney for his portrayal of Toad in The Wind in the Willows. Best Supporting Actress went to Shawnda Salazar for her portrayal of Laura James in Look Homeward, Angel. Tiffany West as Portly Otter in The Wind in the Willows took the Best Supporting Actress 16 years or younger. Out of Order’s David McQuitty as George Pigden won the Best Supporting Actor category. Best Supporting Actor 16 years or younger went to Chris Duvall as Mole in The Wind in the Willows . The Best Female Newcomer for this year went to Katherine Ott’s portrayal of Florence and Death in Good Help Is So Hard to Murder. Dan States took home the Best Male Newcomer Erwin for Look Homeward, Angel‘s Ben Gant. The Best Female Cameo nod went to Kris Tobey as Mrs. Marie “Fatty” Pert, Look Homeward, Angel. Robert Young as Dobbin the horse in The Wind in the Willows won Best Male Cameo. The Special Recognition Erwin went to Sandra Laney for musical accompaniment in The Wind in the Willows. Sandra Becker again took home the Erwin for Best Costume for The Wind in the Willows. Pat Poulter won Best Set Design for the production of The Wind in the Willows.

President Bob McQuitty entertained those present with the “Dubious Achievement Awards.” The awards represented humorous deeds and events that occurred throughout this past year. President McQuitty also held a short TCP meeting to take care of some business. The nominating committee presented their slate for the new year. The committee nominated Darren Tobey as President-Elect, Kris Tobey as Secretary and Diane Morgan as Treasurer. No other nominations were made and the slate was accepted unanimously.

Joshua and Alexis Bird provided entertainment with their rendition of “Anything You Can Do I Can Do Better” from the musical “Annie Get Your Gun”. Joshua also performed a comedy skit with the impressions of Bill Clinton, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Forrest Gump. The audience was also delighted with a visit from Zorro (also played by Joshua Bird).